Possession of a Controlled Substance in Columbus, Georgia

person exchanging money for possession of a controlled substance

Possession of a controlled substance is a charge that can be applied if you are found to have a small amount of a drug on your person. Under the law, if the amount exceeds that for personal use, the charge could be elevated to possession with intent to distribute.

The penalties for simple possession in Georgia are:

  • Schedule I or II (except marijuana)
    • First offense: two to 15 years in prison
    • Second offense: five to 30 years in prison
  • Schedule III, IV and V
    • First offense: one to five years in prison
    • Second offense: one to 10 years in prison

Possessing Drug-Related Objects

If you have any of the following in your possession, you can also be charged with possession of drug related objects:

  • Cultivation or growing materials
  • Packaging, storage or containers for controlled substances
  • Items used to conceal controlled substances
  • Items used for ingestion (pipes, needles, etc.)

This offense is a misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face up to a year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you are facing a charge for possession of a controlled substance, you need a competent criminal defense attorney.

Contact Us for a Free Case Evaluation