Crime Severity Levels and Parole

attorneys at law columbus ga

One of the most common questions we receive is, “When will I be eligible for parole?”

Depending on the circumstances of the case and the specific offense, persons convicted in Georgia can be eligible for parole.

Crime Severity Levels

The State of Georgia has broken down many criminal offenses into one of seven severity levels. The required time of your sentence is mandated by the level in which your offense falls. Here’s how it breaks down:

  • Level I: 15 to 20 months
  • Level II: 18 to 28 months
  • Level III: 20 to 32 months
  • Level IV: 22 to 38 months
  • Level V: 32 to 60 months
  • Level VI: 34 to 78 months
  • Level VII: 38 to 96 months
  • Level VIII: 65% to 90% of your sentence

No Parole Possible

Georgia law also stipulates that parole is not possible for certain offenses that receive the death penalty. These offenses are:

  • Aggravated child molestation
  • Aggravated sexual battery
  • Aggravated sodomy
  • Armed robbery
  • Rape
  • Kidnapping
  • Murder

A specific list of each crime and its level can be found here.

No Two Cases Are Alike

It is important to understand that even though there are certain sentencing guidelines that must be imposed under Georgia law, you are still entitled to have your day in court—and to receive the best defense possible. Call Wadkins & Wallace today for immediate assistance with your case.